I wonder what’s next…

Christmas Day was wonderful this year. For the first time in 25 years my siblings, my mother and my father all sat around the same table to break bread. No one thought it could ever happen and it was whilst sitting there, surrounded by my family, that I finally realised the reason why I hadn’t enjoyed Christmas in such a long time. Christmas is about family and yesterday I was taken back to being a little boy again, I was even excited about opening my presents!

I did the cooking and much to the amazement of at least two people (my mum and dad), I pulled it off. We ate, we drank, we ate some more, we laughed, we played, we opened presents, we skyped extended family, we watched Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses and we ate just a little bit more! The kids loved it, the adults loved it more and my only regret was that my two daughters couldn’t be there, an unfortunate and unforeseen cost of having children in different camps. At the end of the night, the plates were washed up and everyone retired, my brothers to a nearby hotel, my sister upstairs, and me?, well, I had to wait until everyone had gone so I could finally crash out on the blow up bed in the living room. I didn’t mind though because I was here with my family. It was a perfect end to a perfect day.

Boxing Day I woke up to the news that a Nigerian man had been arrested after attempting to blow up a bomb on a plane en route to the USA.

We almost made it.

We almost made it to the end of the year without the kind of news that just makes you sigh! The kind of news that makes you look at your children and hold them just a little bit closer for just a little bit longer. The truth about the world being plain for all to see, and the conclusion being that it’s just not that nice out there.

My mum was the first to comment saying that now it will be difficult for Nigerians to travel, because they will be targeted. The rest of the family agreed and I did too, for a moment, until it hit me just what the impact of this would be bombers actions could actually be. You see worst case it isn’t just Nigerians they will stop, but all people of colour!

Conspiracy theorist! I hear you cry.

No, not at all. I am just someone who looks at things differently.

Unless we are in fear of something, the millions we spend on security are a waste of money. Every year there has been something that makes us scared, something that makes us grateful to have a vigilant Govt that will seemingly put up with no crap. A Govt that is there to protect us and a happy public who don’t mind more and more security measures being piled upon them. We now live in a world where people barely trust each other and when something like this happens the trust falls further and further away. In the aftermath of the London bombings, Muslims, Asians, and anyone with a slight hue to their skin sporting a turban or hijab, or similar, were victimised. What do you think may happen now?

I dread to think what it might be like now for people of colour travelling to the states; for people of colour on the streets of America or Britain; for people of colour at airports. I use this term because that is perhaps how we might be viewed, as one race, one colour and therefore with potentially one ideology. Who knows! So right now I am saddened by this news and saddened that my perfect Christmas has been spoiled by the act of a relative stranger!

That is of course if it is true.

A part of me thinks that the timing is just a little too convenient, just a little too perfect. Christmas, just before the New Year?, a time when we look to the future and make resolutions for a better more positive life?

I’m not buying it.

At a time when Al Qaeda is no longer making the front pages of the papers, just when the world seemed to be getting back to normal, didn’t we need a new threat?, and now thanks to whichever agency dreamed up this idea, we have one. Call me cynical if you want but when something smells a bit fishy I like to look for the fins! I like to think about all of the facts that have been presented and then decide, no matter how improbable or implausible, my conclusions may sound. My initial response has been one of doubt, but perhaps that is just because I want to believe in a world that can function without any of this type of bullshit.

They say bad news comes in threes. I hope we can make it to New Years without anything else happening.

One Response to “I wonder what’s next…”

  1. Masi, Washington DC Says:

    Interesting, until bad news comes in threes then just plain depressing.

Leave a Reply

